xkey is not reading my HD do I need to format HD?

Have you read the manual? Used the search function? If so you can post in here

xkey is not reading my HD do I need to format HD?

Postby lenin713 » Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:40 pm

i recently purchased a hard drive for my xkey (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005J7 ... 00_details)
(it is compatible with USB2 )
but my xkey is not reading it
all i have in the hard drive is:
root: "games" folder
games folder: "justdance3" folder
justdance3 folder: "cpx-jd3.iso" and "cpx-jd3.dvd"
TOSHIBA HD : NTFS formatted.

any help would be appreciated. please help =\
also i have 1.11
lenin713
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:36 am

Re: xkey is not reading my HD do I need to format HD?

Postby Stangoe » Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:50 pm

Does it have a power supply of its own ?

Are you using a Y-Cable ?

All USB 3 are backward compatible but doesn't mean with XK.

I havent tried usb3 yet as I dont have a drive to test it.
Some points to note ...
1. XBL is never 100% safe

Use this Support Template when reporting an issue - http://www.x360keyforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=443
User avatar
Stangoe
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:54 pm

Re: xkey is not reading my HD do I need to format HD?

Postby lenin713 » Thu Dec 15, 2011 4:12 pm

thank you for the fast reply, im only using the things that came with the HD
can you recommend me any HD? i can return the one i have now to amazon, and get a new one
lenin713
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:36 am

Re: xkey is not reading my HD do I need to format HD?

Postby Stangoe » Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:30 pm

There have been a few recommended HDD threads, youd be better using the search.

I've got a mixture of Samsung, Iomega and WD and are either external powered or used through a powered hub.

You can pick up a powered hub from amazon which may solve your problem
Some points to note ...
1. XBL is never 100% safe

Use this Support Template when reporting an issue - http://www.x360keyforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=443
User avatar
Stangoe
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2011 7:54 pm

Re: xkey is not reading my HD do I need to format HD?

Postby gonecaxa » Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:51 pm

I have the same drive except mine is the 1TB version, you need to plug it into the USB dongle directly. If you want to plug it into the remote, you need a external powered USB hub or a Y cable. The remote doesnt have enough power to power this drive.
gonecaxa
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:48 pm

Re: xkey is not reading my HD do I need to format HD?

Postby lenin713 » Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:51 pm

i cannot find the recommended HDD threads. please can you send me the link to one?
lenin713
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:36 am

Re: xkey is not reading my HD do I need to format HD?

Postby lenin713 » Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:25 pm

gonecaxa wrote:I have the same drive except mine is the 1TB version, you need to plug it into the USB dongle directly. If you want to plug it into the remote, you need a external powered USB hub or a Y cable. The remote doesnt have enough power to power this drive.



did u format? i connected it directly to my USB dongle, but still nothing?
the drive makes a weird sound when its connected to the dongle (tick tick tick) do i have to wait or something?
lenin713
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:36 am

Re: xkey is not reading my HD do I need to format HD?

Postby Zephyr » Thu Dec 15, 2011 11:51 pm

lenin713 wrote:i cannot find the recommended HDD threads. please can you send me the link to one?

Found it using the search :)

viewtopic.php?f=7&t=477 - This is the thread about HDD that do work
Zephyr
 
Posts: 4987
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 4:31 pm
Location: Australia

Re: xkey is not reading my HD do I need to format HD?

Postby gonecaxa » Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:26 am

lenin713 wrote:
gonecaxa wrote:I have the same drive except mine is the 1TB version, you need to plug it into the USB dongle directly. If you want to plug it into the remote, you need a external powered USB hub or a Y cable. The remote doesnt have enough power to power this drive.



did u format? i connected it directly to my USB dongle, but still nothing?
the drive makes a weird sound when its connected to the dongle (tick tick tick) do i have to wait or something?



Yes I formatted mine to NTFS, does the light on the HD come on when you connect it to the dongle?
did you enable menuiso in the cfg file? because when the hd is connected to the dongle, the only way to load games is by using menuiso.
gonecaxa
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 9:48 pm

Re: xkey is not reading my HD do I need to format HD?

Postby lenin713 » Fri Dec 16, 2011 3:19 am

gonecaxa wrote:
lenin713 wrote:
gonecaxa wrote:I have the same drive except mine is the 1TB version, you need to plug it into the USB dongle directly. If you want to plug it into the remote, you need a external powered USB hub or a Y cable. The remote doesnt have enough power to power this drive.



did u format? i connected it directly to my USB dongle, but still nothing?
the drive makes a weird sound when its connected to the dongle (tick tick tick) do i have to wait or something?



Yes I formatted mine to NTFS, does the light on the HD come on when you connect it to the dongle?
did you enable menuiso in the cfg file? because when the hd is connected to the dongle, the only way to load games is by using menuiso.


yea the light does come on, when i connect to the dongle, i did enable the menuiso.
but still nothing =\
and it says that the hard drive is NTFS formatted in amazon.com.
lenin713
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 3:36 am

Next

Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 1 guest